The Tampa Bay Rays were founded in 1998 as an expansion team in the American League East. From 1998 through 2007 the team was known as the Tampa Bay Devil Rays but dropped the devil in 2008 for a sunnier branding.

Thus far, the only player for the Tampa Bay Rays franchise to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame has been Wade Boggs but he is not depicted in a Rays cap on his plaque. The team has never won a World Series title and has only one American League pennant having never had a winning season in their first decade.

In their first decade, the Tampa Bay Rays had three 100+ loss seasons and seven 90+ loss seasons but followed a 66-96 2007 with their first winning season, 97-65, and trip to the World Series.

Follow this hub using the button above and you will get automatic updates regarding the team when they become available via your "Following" page.

Latest Articles

Special Autograph All Stars Released for Topps Now

Topps has released two team sets of 2017 All Stars including some short print autographs of selected players.

Brendan McKay Among Nine New Topps Now Cards

Brendan McKay may have been drafted and then signed the biggest bonus ever but now he has a major league baseball card.

What if MLB had used World Baseball Classic tiebreaker to determine playoff teams?

Mexico was eliminated from the World Baseball Classic on a controversial tiebreaker. How would history change if MLB used the same rules?

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.